Slow Roasted Tomatoes

There’s nothing like cranking your oven up to 400 degrees when it’s over 100 degrees outside – nothing better! Yea, I’m totally joking. Does 225 degrees sound a little better? I think so too. So that’s just what I did Saturday afternoon.

I had a few vine-ripened tomatoes sitting around and didn’t really feel like making pasta sauce, and I don’t like tomatoes UNLESS they’re cooked. They can be made into sauce, soup, sauteed, whatever – but they MUST be cooked. It’s a very weird relationship we have, the tomatoes and I. What I did feel like doing was making sun-dried tomatoes (because I LOVE them), but could not find my cheesecloth (hopefully, I can try out this experiment soon). I stumbled upon some recipes, okay, more like guidelines, for slow roasting tomatoes. (Thank you, smitten kitchen, for being a constant inspiration) I thought to myself  “close enough,” and began the 3 hour journey of the slow-roasted tomatoes.

This was one of the easiest things to do with the best results ever! I am so sad that I’ve never done it before. Everyone loves tomatoes, everyone but me! I think this delicious & simple “recipe” has brought me one step closer to a friendship with tomatoes. Let me share with you how we bonded.

What you need:

-your vine-ripened tomatoes, or whatever kind you have
-cloves of unpeeled garlic, as many as you want to roast alongside your tomatoes (tomorrow, I’ll share with you what I did with the delicious roasted garlic)
-good quality olive oil (the only kind you should have in your pantry)
-fresh herbs like rosemary, thyme, or basil (these are optional)
-salt & pepper to taste

Next, preheat your oven to 225°F. Cut your tomatoes into quarters. (If you have a smaller tomato such as a cherry or grape, halve those.) Arrange your tomatoes and garlic on a baking pan, and drizzle with olive oil. Not too much, but just enough (you’ll know). Sprinkle lightly with your herbs, salt, and pepper. Place your pan in your oven and leave them alone for 3 hours. Of course, check on them periodically! You want them to be a little dry on the outside, but to remain a bit juicy on the inside. Experiment with the time to get your tomatoes just right – you might like them a little more juicy while I like them a bit more dry.

Eat these delicious little buggers warm, on a salad or as a side to a sauce-less pizza. It’s a light and refreshing accompaniment to any summer meal & is sure to please most anyone who loves delicious things.

1 Comment

Filed under homemade, vegetables

One response to “Slow Roasted Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Roasted Garlic Potato Salad | i eat food

Leave a Reply

